What Would Reagan Say?

October 27, 2015 at 10:09 am Leave a comment

 

With news that the departing Speaker of the House has reached a tentative deal to both raise the debt ceiling and avoid a government shutdown, you will undoubtedly hear howls from so called conservatives decrying a lack of political conviction by the relative handful of Republicans who actually are willing to compromise to get things done for the good of the country. You will undoubtedly hear these so-called conservatives lament that if we only had more Republicans like Ronald Reagan all would be good in the world.

So today I have a guest blogger, Ronald Reagan, who recalled that when he became California’s Governor in 1967:

“There were still some hard feelings toward me left over from the campaign, when I’d gone out of my way to say I thought the professional politicians in Sacramento and I were natural enemies: My loyalty was to the people, not the political establishment, and I had said so fairly pointedly. Although that sentiment never changed, I realized after a while that to accomplish what I wanted to do swimming upstream against a current of opposition legislators, I’d have to do some negotiating with them….

When I began entering into the give and take of legislative bargaining in Sacramento, a lot of the most radical conservatives who had supported me during the election didn’t like it. “Compromise” was a dirty word to them and they wouldn’t face the fact that we couldn’t get all of what we wanted today. They wanted all or nothing and they wanted it all at once. If you don’t get it all, some said, don’t take anything….

I agreed with FDR, who said in 1933: ‘I have no expectations of making a hit every time I come to bat. What I seek is the highest possible batting average.’

If you got seventy-five or eighty percent of what you were asking for, I say, you take it and fight for the rest later, and that’s what I told these radical conservatives who never got used to it.”

If Reagan was around today, these sentiments would put him in danger of losing the primary and being out of office by the very people who invoke his name.

If you want to know why it seems impossible to get meaningful action on credit union priorities it’s because a dangerous extremism has infected a portion of the Republican Party and made compromise all but impossible.   To these individuals, the country is in such bad shape and it is so opposed to a President it elected twice that a unified party would bring about a “conservative revolution.”   Revolutions don’t happen in this country and we need government to get things done that only government can do.

For the complete quote go to (http://www.wsj.com/articles/notable-quotable-reagan-on-compromise-1445379280?alg=y)

 

Entry filed under: General. Tags: .

Legal Haze Thickens for Pot Businesses New Restrictions on Student Loan Disbursements

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Authored By:

Henry Meier, Esq., General Counsel, New York Credit Union Association.

The views Henry expresses are Henry’s alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Association.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

Archives